5 Medical Toys For The Home

Becky Poole
4 min readMay 12, 2021

Biofeedback for fun or function.

Disclaimer: I am not a medical professional! I know nothing. If you are having a health problem consult a physician or professional. This is not medical advice or even an attempt at medical advice. I assume all of these items come with their own warnings and instructions, read those. I am but a caveman.

Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

As a person horrified by the healthcare industry, and certain that all things “doctor” are regulated and priced beyond measure, I really thought you’d need a license, permit, class, or SOMEthing to purchase these medical instruments. Not true. Easy to get as a gun in Arizona. In fact, you can pick most of them up at the pharmacy. Here are five fun and functional medical devices that you can just like, get. Let’s play doctor!

Oximeter

Check your pulse. Oximeters hug the tip of your finger to let you know if you are oxygenating correctly. Oxygenation means the “addition of oxygen”, and in the case of a home oximeter, it is measuring the percentage of oxygen in your blood. You need a pretty high percentage of oxygen in your blood to function. 98% and above is great, if you’re below 90% that is BAD. No passing grades here, you really want that A. My favorite part about an Oximeter is the heart rate function. I like to take deep breaths to watch my heart rate slow down or think about the…

--

--

Becky Poole

Actor, VO, writer, saw player. Based in LA. I write feminist murder ballads, eat up neuroscience, and wish I was a better SJW.